Rice University logo
Top blue bar image
Scientists in International Context

Project Advisors

Project advisors include a Nobel Prize winner and a former director of the U.S. National Science Foundation among many leading scholars with expertise across relevant subjects, methodologies, and locales.

Social Sciences Advisory Board

Pierre Bréchon, Professor of Political Science, Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Grenoble
Helen Rose Ebaugh, Professor of Sociology, University of Houston
Mahmoud El-Gamal, Professor of Economics and Statistics; Chair of Islamic Economics, Finance, and Management, Rice University
John Evans, Professor of Sociology and Department Chair, University of California, San Diego
Prema Kurien, Professor of Sociology and Director of Asian/Asian American Studies, Syracuse University
Elizabeth Long, Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology, Rice University
Ipek Martinez, Associate Dean of Social Sciences, Rice University
Chantal Saint-Blancat, Professor of Social Sciences, University of Padova Laurel Smith-Doerr, Professor of Sociology, Boston University
David Voas, Professor of Population Studies, Institute for Social and Economic Research, University of Essex
Fenggang Yang, Professor of Sociology, Purdue University

Natural Sciences Advisory Board

Ugo Amaldi, Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Yildiz Bayazitoglu, Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Honorary Member, Turkish Academy of Sciences
Gianpaolo Bellini, Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN), Italy
Francesco Bertola, Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy
Cemil Çelik, Rector of Inonu University, Turkey
Dipshikha Chakravortty, Associate Professor of Biology, Indian Institute of Science, India
Dipankar Chatterji, President, Indian Academy of Sciences and Professor of Biology, Indian Institute of Science, India
Paul C. W. Chu, Professor of Physics and T.L.L. Temple Chair of Science in the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics at the University of Houston; President, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (2001-2009)
Robert Curl, University Professor Emeritus, Pitzer-Schlumberger Professor of Natural Sciences Emeritus, and Professor of Chemistry Emeritus, Rice University
S. Semahat Demir, Rector of Istanbul Kültür University, Turkey
Aldo Fasolo, Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy
Mario Guzzi, Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
George Wei-Shu Hou, Distinguished Professor of Physics, National Taiwan University
Alice S. Huang, Senior Faculty Associate in Biology, California Institute of Technology
Neal Lane, Malcolm Gillis University Professor and Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Rice University; Senior Fellow in Science and Technology Policy at the James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy
G. Balakrish Nair, Executive Director, Translational Health Science and Technology Institute (Department of Biotechnology, Government of India)
Meral Özgüç, Professor of Biology, Hacettepe University, Turkey
Giuliano Francesco Panza, Università degli Studi di Trieste, Italy
Andrea Pession, Università di Bologna, Italy
Alberto Pimpinelli, Executive Director, Rice Quantum Institute, Rice University; Former Scientific Attaché for Physics, French Embassy, USA
C.N.R. Rao, National Research Professor and Honorary President, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India
M.R.S. Rao, Honorary Professor and Former President, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India
Lucio Rossi, Università degli Studi di Milano and CERN, Italy
Bernhard Schrefler, Professor of Structural Mechanics at the University of Padova and Secretary General of the International Centre for Mechanical Science (CISM) at Udine, Italy
Ajay K. Sood, Secretary General, World Academy of Sciences and Professor of Physics, Indian Institute of Science
Annick Suzor-Weiner, Professor Emeritus, Université Paris-Sud; Former Counselor for Science and Technology, French Embassy, USA
Asli Tolun, Professor of Biology, Bogazici University, Turkey
Paolo Tortora, Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Fiona M. Watt, Director of the Centre for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine, King’s College London School of Medicine