Rice University logo
 
Top blue bar image
Scientists in International Context
 

Personnel et Etudiants

Chercheurs postdoctoraux

David R. Johnson (Rice University)

David R. Johnson est chercheur postdoctoral au département de sociologie de Rice University, Il a obtenu son doctorat en sociologie à la University of Georgia en décembre 2011. Johnson s’intéresse à la sociologie du travail. Ses travaux de recherche portent essentiellement sur les contextes professionnels et organisationnels de la science. Dans ses études sur les conflits entre la science et le commerce, la science et la religion, le travail et la famille, Johnson examine d’un point de vue théorique le conflit interinstitutionnel sous l’angle des expériences et interprétations des travailleurs sur leur travail. Son sujet de thèse sur la commercialisation dans les universités (actuellement en révision avant publication en livre) a obtenu une bourse de la National Science Foundation et a reçu la récompense Thèse de l’Année en 2012 par la Association for the Study of Higher Education (association des études d’éducation supérieure).

Brandon Vaidyanathan (Rice University)

Brandon Vaidyanathan est chercheur postdoctoral au département de sociologie de Rice University. Il a obtenu son doctorat en sociologie à la University of Notre Dame (Indiana). Il possède également un diplôme de premier et deuxième cycle en management. Sa thèse, en cours de révision pour être publiée comme ouvrage, examine comment des professionnels en entreprise, dans des villes en expansion rapide comme Bangalore et Dubai, abordent la question des limites entre le travail, la consommation et la religion. Il est l’auteur d’une autre recherche qui a été publiée dans Social Forces; Work, Employment, & Society; Journal for the American Academy of Religion; et Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion.

Directrices de Projet

Laura S. Achenbaum (Directrice du projet principale)

Laura Achenbaum, diplômée magna cum laudede la New York University pour sa formation de premier cycle (Bachelor of Art), est également titulaire d’un diplôme de deuxième cycle (Master of Arts) en sociologie de la University of Houston en 2010. Elle est l’auteur de publications sur l’éthique dans le milieu de la recherche. Ancienne assistante de recherche au Baylor College of Medicine, Achenbaum a une grande expérience dans la gestion de toutes les étapes des projets de recherche qualitative.

Associés de recherche principaux

Jared Peifer (Baruch College, The City University of New York)

Jared Peifer a rejoint en août 2013 la Zicklin School of Business du Baruch College, The City University of New York, en tant que professeur-assistant. Peifer a obtenu sa thèse en sociologie à la Cornell University en mai 2011. Celle-ci portait sur la sociologie de l’économie et la sociologie de la religion, sujets qui l’ont amené à s’intéresser aux sphères religieuses et économiques du comportement social. Dans sa recherche sur les investissements socialement responsables d’affiliation religieuse et sur les dons de bienfaisance, il étudie comment les acteurs sociaux sont capables de négocier des logiques concurrentes qui pourraient aisément les mener dans des directions différentes. Il s’intéresse également à la thématique moralité et science, en étudiant la perception religieuse des thèses scientifiques sur le changement climatique et l’environnement.

Chris Scheitle (College of Saint Benedict-Saint John’s University (MN))

Chris Scheitle a obtenu son doctorat au département de sociologie de la Penn State University en 2008. Il est l’auteur de deux ouvrages : Beyond the Congregations: The World of Christian Nonprofits (Oxford, 2010) et Places of Faith: A Road Trip Across America’s Religious Landscape (Oxford, 2012). Ses travaux de recherche portent sur les dynamiques organisationnelles de la religion américaine, plus particulièrement sur le secteur d’activité à but non lucratif. Il est actuellement professeur adjoint associé de sociologie au College of Saint Benedict-Saint John’s University dans le Minnesota.

 

Etudiants de deuxième cycle universitaire

Di Di (Rice University)

Di Di a obtenu son diplôme de droit de premier cycle universitaire à la Tongji University en 2012 et est actuellement doctorante au département de sociologie de Rice University. Ses travaux de recherche portent, entre autres, sur la religiosité des immigrants, les religions en Chine, la question de la race et de l’ethnicité. Elle s’intéresse en ce moment à la conversion des immigrants chinois et indien au christianisme.

Simranjit Khalsa (Rice University)

Simranjit Khalsa a obtenu un diplôme de premier cycle (Bachelor of Science) en sociologie et planification, politique publique et management, à la University of Oregon en 2013. Elle s’intéresse à la façon dont les personnes abordent la question de la différence religieuse ainsi qu’à la poussée de nouveaux mouvements religieux. Elle a réalisé une thèse en sociologie intitulée “Resolving Religious Difference: Christians and Non-Christians in Intimate Relationships”, dans laquelle elle étudie les croyances des individus dans les relations intimes, les différences religieuses entre partenaires et dans quelle mesure ces différences affectent leur relation.

Rice University logo
 
Top blue bar image
Scientists in International Context
 

Staff and Students

Post-Doctoral Fellows

David R. Johnson (Rice University)

David R. Johnson is a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the Department of Sociology at Rice University. He completed his PhD in sociology at the University of Georgia in December 2011. Johnson is a sociologist of work whose research agenda focuses primarily on the professional and organizational contexts of science. In studies of conflict between science and commerce, science and religion, and work and family, Johnson theoretically examines inter-institutional conflict through the lens of workers’ experiences and interpretations of their work. Johnson’s dissertation on commercialization in universities – now being revised as a book– was funded by the National Science Foundation and named by the Association for the Study of Higher Education as the recipient of the 2012 Dissertation of the Year Award.

Project Manager

Laura S. Achenbaum (Senior Project Manager)

Laura Achenbaum, a magna cum laudegraduate of New York University (B.A.), earned an M.A. in sociology from the University of Houston in 2010 and has published on research ethics. A former Research Assistant at Baylor College of Medicine, Achenbaum has extensive experience managing every stage of qualitative research projects.

Senior Research Associates

Brandon Vaidyanathan

Brandon Vaidyanathan is Director of Research for the H.E. Butt Family Foundation and Public Policy Fellow at the Center for Ethics and Culture at University of Notre Dame. He was formerly a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the Department of Sociology at Rice University. His first book – currently under review – examines how corporate professionals in rapidly globalizing cities such as Bangalore and Dubai negotiate boundaries between work, consumption, and religion.

Jared Peifer (Baruch College, The City University of New York)

In August 2013 Jared Peifer joined the Zicklin School of Business at Baruch College, The City University of New York, as an assistant professor. Peifer received his Ph.D. in sociology at Cornell University in May of 2011, specializing in economic sociology and sociology of religion, which together inspire his focus on religious and economic spheres of social behavior. In his research on religiously affiliated socially responsible investments and charitable giving, he explores how social actors are able to negotiate competing logics which might easily pull them in different directions. He also focuses on morality and science, by considering the religious reception of scientific claims regarding climate change and the environment.

Chris Scheitle (West Virginia University)

Chris Scheitle received his Ph.D. from the Department of Sociology at Penn State University in 2008. He is the author of two books: Beyond the Congregations: The World of Christian Nonprofits (Oxford, 2010) and Places of Faith: A Road Trip Across America’s Religious Landscape (Oxford, 2012). His research focuses on the organizational dynamics of American religion, with a particular focus on the nonprofit sector. He is currently Assistant Professor of Sociology at West Virginia University.

 

Graduate Students

Di Di (Rice University)

Di Di earned a bachelor’s degree in law from Tongji University in 2012 and is now a Ph.D. student in the sociology department at Rice University. Her research interests include immigrants’ religiosity, religions in China, race, and ethnicity, and she is currently studying the conversion of Chinese and Indian immigrants to Christianity.

Simranjit Khalsa (Rice University)

Simranjit Khalsa completed a Bachelor of Science in Sociology and Planning, Public Policy, and Management at the University of Oregon in 2013. She is interested in how people negotiate religious difference as well as the growth of new religious movements. She completed a departmental thesis in sociology entitled “Resolving Religious Difference: Christians and Non-Christians in Intimate Relationships” through which she explored the beliefs of partners in such relationships, the religious differences between partners, and the extent to which those differences affected their relationship.